City Guide's

City Guide ~ Where i ate while in New York

IMG_7622While visiting New York, I was amazed how cheaply you could eat. You’re always told that NYC is really expensive but in my opinion there are places for everyone’s budget, you just have to do your research.

Before my family and I visited New York we googled a lot! Our hotel was situated in the Upper West side so we made sure we knew the area and what was local to us, such as coffee shops, independent restaurants and grocery stores. We also researched other areas like midtown, Upper East Side and the West Village. You may never even visit the places you’ve found online but at least you will know about pricing and if your ever stuck on where to eat you will know a few places you can try.

The first restaurant I wanted to share is where I had my first New York meal. It’s an all American diner situated in the Upper West Side called Big Daddy’s. We ate here twice purely because the food was so good! You can get a shake, Burger and fries for $19! Their fried chicken is definitely one try!!

If you love sports then make sure you visit Tonic bar Time Square! We visited Tonic on game night the Giant’s were playing! (My favourite team) and the atmosphere was amazing. We got seated and served right away. I recommend the spaghetti and meat balls for $15. I’ll warn you know they were huge!!

One night we fancied something different so we decided to try one of the restaurants we saw while researching. Brick Lane Curry House is situated in the Upper East side so we took a taxi across the park. Once we arrived we was seated and served quickly, I have been to a few good curry house’s but BLCH is the one of the best. If you are a fan of Man V Food then you will remember Adam eating the “PHAAL” curry which is the spiciest curry in the world.

Other place we ate…

Magnolia Bakery ~ Ok so this is my favourite places to visit while in New York, their cupcakes don’t compare to any I have had before. We visited the original store on Bleeker St West Village which was featured on Sex & The City!! Proper fan girl moment!! This is one place you can’t miss!! Their classic cupcakes cost $3.50 each and their Speciality cupcakes cost $3.75 each.

The last place on my list is a hidden gem which we only found out about while researching. It’s a sweet lovers paradise!! Dylan’s Candy Bar is on Lexington Av just across the road from Bloomingdales. There’s a sweet shop but also a cafe and bar!! Where you can have slushy’s, cakes and at night Cocktails!!

I have loved writing this post and remembering all the amazing memories I made in NYC. I hope this has helped you if you are planning your first trip to the big city!!

Sophie Xx

**Stay Tuned** I will be sharing more city guides soon which will included Paris & Edinburgh!!

Leave a Reply

