Food, Uncategorized

Chorizo Sausage Rolls

Sausage rolls are my favourite thing to bake, they are super quick and easy to make and take hardly any skill so anyone can make them. I love making these sausage rolls for long journeys, I remember the first time I visited Edinburgh, we travelled up by train and I made these and homemade quiches, they went down a treat! I make mine with chorizo style sausages but you could use Cumberland for a more classic roll.


What you will need…

  • Ready rolled puff pastry
  • 1 beaten egg
  • 400g good quality Chorizo sausages
  • Ground black pepper

Pre-heat oven to 180 C (350F) and line 2 large baking trays.

Take the sausages out of their skins and leave to one side. I tend to keep them in the sausage shape, this makes it easier when placing on your pastry.

Lay out your ready rolled pastry on to a lightly floured surface and cut in half lengthways. Then place your sausage meat in the middle of the pastry rectangles, leaving a small amount of free pastry at each end.

Lightly brush the edges of the pastry with the beaten egg and roll up. I love to crimp so I crimp the edges like you would with a cornish pasty, you don’t have to but I think it gives them a nicer finish. Then cut in to any size you like.

If you’re making long sausage rolls lightly cut 2 to 3 slits in the top of each roll.

Place on to your lined baking try and brush over the egg and bake for 25 ~ 30 minutes, until golden, crispy and puffed. Leave to cool for around 20 minute before moving in to a tin or before eating.

These are perfect as a quick snack on the go but they also taste amazing dipped into a sweet chilli mayo. All you need to make the mayo is a few tablespoons of good quality mayonnaise and a few drops of sweet chilli sauce, mix well and add more to taste.

I really hope you enjoy this recipe, I will be sharing my quiche recipe soon!

Sophie Xx

(This recipe was created by me)

Leave a Reply

