Food

The Real Girls Kitchen ~ Corn Chowder

Screen Shot 2015-11-30 at 10.58.24A few mounths ago I promised I would share some of my favouite receipes from the cookbooks on my book shelf and I thought  would start with my favoute lunch time recipe. I recived Haylie Duffs – The Real Girls Kitchen cookbook a few years ago and it’s still the one book I bring out every mounth. It’s full of easy and healthy recipes and gorgouse photograghy, it really is a joy to cook from!

The recipe im going to share is perfect for lunches though out the week, I  make a big batch on the Sunday and keep it in the frigdge ready for the week ahead!


 

You will need…

  • 4 Corn ears
  • 1 tabelspoon Earth Balance/ you can also use Butter
  • I Onion chopped
  • 6 striped Bacon, chopped
  • 2 peeled and chopped Potatoes
  • 1 chopped and deseeded Red bell pepper
  • 2 cups of Water
  • 1/4 cup Half – and – Half / Semi skimmed Milk
  •  1 4-oz can Green Chillies/ I use a few lose chillies chopped
  • Kosher salt and Black Pepper    

 

Cut the kernels from the ears of corn. Warm the butter in a big pot. Add the onion and bacon. When the bacon is almost done, add the potatoes and red bell pepper. Once the potatoes are soft, add corn, half – and- half, chillies, salt, and pepper.

You can enjoy this soup a couple of ways. You can leave it chunky, or you can run it thought a food mill.  You can also blend it in a vitamax or use a handheld blender. ( I use a potatoe masher and only mash a little so its still a little chunky).

What cook books are your favourites? I  would love to hear your recomndtions! Comment below or email me privity though my contact for!!

#HappyCooking

Sophie Xx

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

